BREAKING: APC Leaders Take Important Step to Address National Assembly Zoning Crisis

  • APC is working towards resolving the crisis that was created by its zoning of the Senate Presidency and Speakership seats of the 10th National Assembly
  • Over 40 federal lawmakers met with the National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling party to review the party’s earlier stance
  • The meeting on Tuesday, May 16, which was held at the Muhammadu Buhari House was presided over by Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the APC Chairman

FCT, Abuja – If fresh information is anything to go by, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) is in the process of resolving the apparent disagreement that has erupted as a result of the zoning of the principal positions of the coming 10th national assembly.

As part of moves to resolve the ongoing crisis, Senators Godswill Akpabio and Jibrin Barau on Tuesday, May 16, held a meeting with the party’s National Working Committee (NWC), The Punch reported.

10th NASS/10th National Assembly/apc news
APC leaders met on Tuesday in Abuja to discuss the National Assembly (NASS) zoning crisis. Photo credits: Godswill Obot Akpabio, Senator Barau Jibrin, Kashim Shettima
Source: Facebook

The meeting which took place at the Muhammadu Buhari House, Abuja, was presided over by the APC national chairman, Abdullahi Adamu.

It is understood that over 40 senators, including Senator Akpabio and Barau attended the meeting.

How APC announced ‘consensus’ candidates

It would be recalled that reported recently that the APC NWC announced the consensus zoning arrangements for the 10th NASS after allegedly consulting with President-elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu and some other stakeholders.

However, in reaction to the zoning arrangement for National Assembly leadership positions released by the NWC of the APC, seven aspirants for the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives rejected the declaration.

The members, under the platform of the G7 group are Rt. ; Hon. Mukhtar Aliyu Betara; Deputy Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon Ahmed Idris Wase; , Hon. Yusuf Gagdi, House of Representatives Majority Leader, Rt. Hon. Al Hassan Doguwa; Hon. Sada Soli; Hon. Mariam Onuoha and Hon. Aminu Sani Jaji.

Similarly, prominent senators like Orji Uzor Kalu and Abdulaziz Yari protested.

Subsequently, Adamu promised a review of the zoning of the principal positions.

10th National Assembly: Leadership crisis worsens as northcentral governors reject ‘Tinubu’s candidates’ earlier reported that the north central governors rejected the zoning of the 10th assembly leadership released by the APC.

The aggrieved governors have also scheduled a meeting with the president-elect, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, and the chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu.

10th National Assembly: APC movement backs Abbas’ speakership bid also reported that the anointed candidate for the speakership seat of the House of Representatives, Abass Tajudeen, received the backing of the Progressives Foundational Movement (PFM).

Recall that Tajudeen, earlier in May, was declared the consensus candidate for the lower chamber’s coveted speakership seat by the APC’s national leadership.


More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *